Gerald W. Haslam
Gerald W. Haslam biography GWH Literary Honors Complete list of books Books in print. short stories email


The Great Tejon Club Jubilee


Not Tasteful...
Not Highbrow...
Not Politically (or Grammatically) Correct...
But Semi-Hilarious!

Read a story from this book


     In the tradition of Mark Twain and Will Rogers, Gerald Haslam's redoubtable Tejon-Club Gang returns the tall-tale and the bumpkin-humor traditions to their proper places in American letters ... where ever that is!

The gang manages to poke holes in social trends and elitist assumptions -- and in their own prejudices -- while bumbling from one beer-fueled misadventure to the next.

Thirteen short stories -- plus a disclaimer by the narrator -- introduce readers to these Good Ol' Boys who live and work in California's Great Central Valley.


Reviewer comments!


And for a laugh, page after page, you can't do better than this book of good ol' boy stories. — South Valley Arts

Haslam's fictional characters are based on real people, and that authenticity is what makes these stories great. — Jennifer Joseph, San Francisco Bay Guardian


Reviews from Amazon:

This book is a lighthearted set of fourteen short stories that are nothing short of hilarious. — Da

Great blue collar humor. Humor based on another time and another place, the California Central Valley 50 years ago, and loaded with insights of the working class there.

A five star book. Stories of a time and place that are very well told. A very good read. Highly Recommended. — Jerry L. Gibbon


I felt like I was a part of this book. By A Customer on December 25, 1997

Everyone interested in Calif. Oklahoma and Texas must read this book to understand how the Great Central Valley was conquered by these three states.


The Tejon Club Jubelee is available in paper and E-book from:
Devil Mountain Books, P.O.Box 4115, Walnut Creek, CA 94596. or Amazon.com.